All resources
Trending19 September 2026·5 min read

Visa and OpenAI move towards agent-led payments, and what merchants need to prepare

A June 2026 announcement describes how AI agents may pay with tokenized credentials under user-set limits. Many details were not disclosed.

Digital Commerce 360 reported on 12 June 2026 that Visa announced at its Payments Forum an integration with OpenAI so purchases made by AI agents can be verified and processed. We rely on the trade report, not on the companies' own releases.

As reported

  • Payments use tokenized Visa credentials with real-time authorization and fraud monitoring.
  • Users can set spending limits, permitted merchant types and human-approval requirements.
  • Visa plans to align its Trusted Agent Protocol with OpenAI's protocol.
  • Launch timing, merchants and the checkout experience were not disclosed.
  • The same week, Mastercard introduced a product for agent-to-agent transactions.
  • The article cites a McKinsey estimate that agentic commerce could reach up to $1 trillion in US B2C retail sales by 2030.

What to prepare

  • Be able to tell a legitimate agent from a bot: identity, limits and fraud signals.
  • Make product data and policies machine-readable.
  • Decide your liability and dispute policy for agent-initiated purchases.

A 2030 market estimate is a projection from one source. Plan for capability, not for that number.

Related capability

This is what our Autonomous AI Agents practice is built around.

See how it's scoped